SHOPPING CART: (0) ITEMS

Friday Minute Clinic - Falling Putts in Disc Golf

Posted by Grant on 2/4/2011 to Friday Minute Clinic
Hey America, how's that winter storm treating you?  Local schools here in Fort Worth have been closed since Tuesday due to very icy roads...and as I write this, we're getting blanketed with big, fluffy flakes of snow...headed toward 5 inches since yesterday.  It's cold!!!  Especially for a Southerner!

Ok, today's Minute Clinic is about Falling Putts.  You know who you are (most of the time) and you know what you do!  We want to help!  First off, for those that don't know or didn't realize, a falling putt is when you do NOT demonstrate balance inside the putting the circle.  The putting circle is 10 meters or 32 feet 10 inches.  Inside this circle, you MUST fully demonstrate balance behind your lie when you putt.  That means after you release the putter, no part of your body can land in front of your lie (or mini-marker) period.  It's not good enough to simply tap your foot down behind your lie as your momentum takes you toward the basket.  Same thing if you happen to be kneeling when you putt...if you land in push-up position, you've fallen on the putt.

What happens if I "fall" when I putt?

First, your card will issue a warning and you must re-putt.  Anything after that counts as a penalty stroke so it can really add up if you have built in this bad habit to your game.

Watch the video to for a few quick tips on how to eliminate falling putts from your disc golf game!



See ya on the course...after it warms up...

-Grant

Header

Date 3/27/2013
Rhett
I have been playing for years, in tournaments and other-wise. I never and have never heard of this rule. Thankfully I have never been called on this because, although I'm sure I haven't done this. Is falling on your knees on a slope behind the marker-line ok?

Add Comment